Searching for simpler models

Fri, Nov 15, 2019, 9:30 am
Location: 
The Graduate Center, Skylight Room, 9100. 365 Fifth Avenue, between 34th and 35th Streets, in Manhattan
Sponsor(s): 
CPBF an NSF PFC
Initiative for the Theoretical Sciences (ITS)
CUNY doctoral programs in Physics and Biology

PDF iconDetailed Schedule for Friday November 15 Symposia

 

Using simple models to understand complex processes
Mark Transtrum, Brigham Young University

Neural network pruning and the lottery ticket hypothesis
Jonathan Frankle, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Finding and explaining structural hierarchies in complex systems
Katherine Quinn, The CUNY Graduate Center

No equations, no variables, no parameters
Yannis Kevrekidis, Johns Hopkins University

Events begin at 9:30 AM with coffee and bagels, and conclude a bit after 6 PM. Lunch will be served.

Navish Wadhwa: Environmentally regulated self-assembly of the bacterial flagellar motor

Mon, Dec 16, 2019, 12:00 pm

Macromolecular protein complexes perform essential biological functions across life forms.

Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Dmitry Rinberg: TBD

Mon, Jan 27, 2020, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Sven van Taeffelen: TBD

Mon, Feb 3, 2020, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Elizabeth Jerison: TBD

Mon, Feb 10, 2020, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Elizabeth Jerison: Dynamics of adaptive immunity in zebrafish

Mon, Feb 10, 2020, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Stephanie Palmer: TBD

Mon, Feb 17, 2020, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Symposia: TBD

Fri, Feb 21, 2020, 9:30 am
Location: The Graduate Center, Room 4102. 365 Fifth Avenue, between 34th and 35th Streets, Manhattan

Andrew York: TBD

Mon, Feb 24, 2020, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Andreas Gahlman: TBD

Mon, Mar 9, 2020, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Andreas Gahlmann: TBD

Mon, Mar 9, 2020, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Symposia: TBD

Fri, Mar 13, 2020, 9:30 am
Location: The Graduate Center. 365 Fifth Avenue, between 34th and 35th Streets, Manhattan

Allan Drummond: TBD

Mon, Mar 16, 2020, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall