The problem of ecological diversity

Fri, Apr 12, 2019, 9:30 am to 6:00 pm
Location: 
The Graduate Center - Skylight Room, 9100 - 365 Fifth Avenue, between 34th and 35th Streets, in Manhattan

A bottom-up approach to microbial community assembly
Jeff Gore, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

The origin of chaos in large interacting ecosystems
Giulio Biroli, École Normale Supérieure

Collective behaviors in large interactive ecosystems: A phase diagram
Chiara Cammarota, King’s College London

Microbial diversity and spatio-temporal chaos
Daniel Fisher, Stanford University

Events begin at 9:30 AM with coffee and bagels, and conclude a bit after 6 PM.
Lunch will be served
.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bill Bialek & Josh Shaevitz: state of the Center

Mon, Sep 16, 2019, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Zaida Luthey-Schulten: TBD

Mon, Sep 23, 2019, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Andrew Mugler: TBD

Mon, Sep 30, 2019, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

David Van Valen: TBD

Mon, Oct 7, 2019, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

John Marko: TBD

Mon, Oct 14, 2019, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Aleksandra Walczak: TBD

Mon, Oct 21, 2019, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Ashley Carter: DNA Folding in Sperm

Mon, Nov 4, 2019, 12:00 pm

In sperm, DNA is tightly compacted to create a small, hydrodynamic sperm head.

Paul Francois: TBD

Mon, Nov 11, 2019, 12:00 pm

Marija Zanic: TBD

Mon, Nov 18, 2019, 12:00 pm

Damon Clark: TBD

Mon, Dec 2, 2019, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Hana El-Samad: TBD

Mon, Dec 9, 2019, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall

Dmitry Rinberg: TBD

Mon, Jan 27, 2020, 12:00 pm
Location: Joseph Henry Room Jadwin Hall